So Far So Good

So far so good. Not that good, I initially published this I the wrong blog. Oops! 😬

I’m still trying to watch what I eat and go for walks. I went five days last week but totally blew off Friday, Saturday and Sunday. So, back at it today. I still tried to eat pretty decent but no walk for three days. 
I’m making my protein shake in the morning. Lots of vitamins, low carbs. Fruits, veggies and healthy protein for lunch. I did manage to lose a couple of pounds. My blood sugar has been running low so, I have started taking a little less insulin at night. 
I can’t wait to go back to the doctor at the end of the month. Doing labs again, checking my kidneys. She will need to find me some other blood pressure medication since she took me off lisinopril, it can damage the kidneys. My BP has been high every time I check it and I’m having more headaches and I can feel swelling in my ankles and feet. 
It’s hell growing old. Especially when you didn’t listen to anything anybody told you about health while growing up! 
I happened upon this recipe (My Fitness Pal) that looks good and isn’t too terribly unhealthy. I need to try and find diabetic and kidney friendly recipes. 
If anybody tries this recipe let me know how you liked it. 😀

    

Brighten up your day with these warm, ooey-gooey banana-nut doughnuts with cream cheese glaze! They’re soft, fluffy and the perfect match for your toasty cup of joe. This recipe prevents waste by making use of extra ripe bananas and keeps things on the light side by subbing in applesauce for oil.
Baked Banana Nut Donuts
Ingredients
For the doughnuts
* 2 medium (235 grams) ripe bananas, mashed
* 1 large (50 grams) egg
* 1/3 cup (80 grams) unsweetened applesauce
* 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 1/3 cup (40 grams) whole-wheat flour
* 1/2 cup (60 grams) all-purpose flour
* 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
* 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
* 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
* 1/4 teaspoon salt
For the cream cheese glaze
* 3 tablespoons low-fat cream cheese, softened
* 2 tablespoons powdered sugar
* 1 tablespoon nonfat milk
* 2 tablespoons finely chopped walnuts, toasted if desired
Directions
Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat a doughnut pan with cooking spray.
Combine bananas, egg, applesauce and vanilla in a large bowl. Combine flours, baking powder, cinnamon and salt in a separate bowl; stir into banana mixture.
Spoon 1/3 cup batter into each cup of doughnut pan. Bake 12 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.
Prepare cream cheese glaze in a shallow bowl: Mix together cream cheese and sugar; stir in milk.
Dip tops of cooled doughnuts in glaze, and set on a wire rack. Sprinkle each with 1 teaspoon walnuts.
Nutrition Information
Serves: 6 | Serving Size: 1 doughnut (70 grams) + 1 tablespoon glaze + 1 teaspoon nuts
Per serving: Calories: 161; Total Fat: 4g; Saturated Fat: 1g; Monounsaturated Fat: 1g; Cholesterol: 40mg; Sodium: 66mg; Carbohydrate: 28g; Dietary Fiber: 3g; Sugar: 11g; Protein: 4g
Nutrition Bonus: Potassium: 306mg; Iron: 7%; Vitamin A: 2%; Vitamin C: 10%; Calcium: 6% 
Tags: 200 calories banana breakfastcinnamon Desserts egg high fiberKid-friendly low sodium snacks vanillaVegetarian walnut

MyFitnessPal’s Original Recipes
MyFitnessPal’s Original Recipes are recipes we’ve developed in our very own test kitchen, using common ingredients and beginner-friendly cooking techniques. Scroll through our entire collection or explore: Low-Carb• High-protein • High-fiber • Gluten-free • Dairy-free • Vegetarian • Vegan • Low 

Leave a comment